Module Info

In 2017, the University of  Belgrade, Faculty of Law was awarded a three-years grant under the Erasmus+ Jean Monnet Programme to support teaching on free trade agreements in the context of European integrations. The Jean Monnet Module entitled „Free Trade Agreements and European Integration of SEE countries“ is established within the Master in European Integration program. The project’s reference number is: 586505-EPP-1-2017-1-RS-EPPJMO-MODULE.

The Jean Monnet Module leader is Professor Dušan V. Popović, and the project team also includes Associate Professor Tatjana Jevremović Petrović, Associate Professor Mirjana Radović, Assistant Professor Yane Svetiev, Assistant Professor Marko Jovanović and a Ph.D candidate Andrijana Mišović.

The activities that will be undertaken within the Jean Monnet Module are:

  • creation of a new master course
  • organization of a scientific conference
  • organizaton of two workshops for the members of business community
  • organization of one workshop for journalists
  • publication of a collection of scientific papers
  • creation of an interactive website and presence on social media (Facebook, Twitter).

The new master course „Free Trade Agreements and European Integration of SEE countries“  will be thought within the existing master program – Master in European Integration. The master students shall learn about the impact of the SAAs to the national legal system (what institutions need to be established, which rules need to be harmonized, which rules regulate the trade relations between EU and SEE countries). Further to this, the course will be focused on CEFTA and the Energy Community Treaty. Traditionally, students enrolled in Master in European integration do not come only from Serbia but from other SEE countries as well (the entire program is in English), which widens the impact of the project to the whole region.

The master course may be attended by both “classical” master students, enrolled in the Master in European integration, and legal practitioners (civil servants, judicial assistants/associates).